About My Blog

Hello All!

Today I am starting my first ever blog. This blog will cover some of my interests and passions in life. The topics I will blog mostly about are tennis, manga, Greek history, movies, and biotech/tech companies that I find interesting and awesome.

So first up is some basic info!

My all time favorite tennis player is Marat Safin. He is simply a legend. For said reasons, he is also the person I chose as the background for my blog page.

My favorite manga is One Piece – I believe this is the greatest epic ever written since Homer wrote the Odyssey and Iliad (quite the claim, I know). I wish more people would give this story a read!

I was a Classics major in college and so I love Greek & Roman mythology and history. All of it fascinates me.

I am also a big movie-goer! I recently saw Pacific Rim and I have to say it was awesome. If you like action movies then definitely give this a go. Watching these monsters and robots fight is like watching two heavy weights in the ring go at it.

I currently intern at the premier investor relations firm, The Trout Group where we have over 70 clients in the biotech field,  and so I happen to know a little bit about what’s going on in biotech.

Lastly – I am beginning my journey into the tech startup world by taking up computer science. I first hope to become comfortable with javascript before I move on to the heavier stuff.

So why am I starting this journey in the first place? Well, first off, I just find computer science intriguing on its own because the more I learn about it, the more I regret not learning it in college. My eyes are being opened to more and more exciting technologies that are sprouting up all around us. For instance, I have a friend from UNC-Chapel Hill who is starting a new social network site called Bevii (learn more about it here: http://bevii.com/). My buddy’s ability to come up with a new idea and then act on it is what has inspired me to learn programming. More simply put, I wish I could think up a new service or social network idea, and then have the ability to make it a reality. For now though, I’ll just start with taking baby steps.

So this concludes my first blog ever! I hope that I have covered some topics that others are passionate about, and I hope to connect with fellow bloggers who share the same interests that I do.

Until next time,

Matthew

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

